top of page

Parenting Blog that will make all of us yell -Hooray!

Parenting in 2017, well I suppose parenting since the beginning of time, is not and has never been an easy task. While children bring a huge amount of joy to the lives of parents, it also brings a lot of responsibility, worry and huge demands on our time. Having spoken to a number of my Blog followers it has become clear that this has been a common concern for many of you. The demands that life presents to us, each and everyday, whilst raising our children make many of us wish that we had 28 even 30 hours in a day just to keep up!


Thankfully, in this age of the Internet, there are websites that we can visit for help and tips. I recently came into contact with a wonderful Parenting Blogger by the name of Kellie. A mother of two, she finds the time to run an amazing blog for parents called Hooray for Moms, you'll find a link to her website further below in this article, and also had time to answer a few questions for this article which I hope, in addition to the links provided, will be of time-saving benefit to all of you reading this article.



Hi Kellie, can you tell our readers about yourself and your blog?

I’m a mom of two amazing boys (8 and 2) and have been married to my wonderful husband for almost 16 years. I love exploring the world with my family and spending as much time with them as possible – they are my world! I have been working in publishing for almost 20 years. While the content I worked on was interesting, I decided it was time I worked on something I am truly passionate about – parenting! I also found that I was constantly searching online for every little thing, and wanted one place where all of the information could be found.


My blog focuses on parenting in general and all the aspects that go along with it – from parenting and travel tips to humor to recipes to crafts and more. I both write and source articles from other parents, as I think we can all learn from each other and every parent has a unique take on parenting.


Is blogging your profession or

just a hobby?

It started as a hobby and turned into a profession.


How much time do you spend blogging?

I typically spend about 10 hours a week working on the blog – this entails writing, sourcing materials, editing/proofing, and marketing.


How do you manage time to run your blog efficiently?

It’s tricky! My husband works from home, so we’ve become very good at tag-teaming. When I need to work, he gets to play with the kids; and when he needs to work, I get to play. I also do a lot of work after the kids have gone to bed so I have more time to be with them during the day.


How do you motivate yourself to keep the blog up and running?

When I’m really tired after a long day, it can be hard, but I motivate myself by remembering why I’m doing this. I love that I can offer information to others that they find valuable and helpful, and when I hear that people are enjoying it and find it beneficial, well that keeps me going!


What do you think is the best service a blogger can provide to his/her readers?

Helpful and informative information. Whether it comes from in-depth articles on autism or travel destinations or humorous anecdotes about life as a parent, as long as it provides something the readers want then you’re providing a great service.


In the future where do you hope your blog will take you?

To the stars! Not really, well, actually…. I would like it to continue helping others and being a way that I can connect with other parents. It’s fun learning how we can all relate to the nuttiness that comes with family life…makes you feel a little less insane at times. 😊


Have you met anyone interesting/famous on your blogging journey?


Everyone I meet is interesting! That’s what’s so great – we all have our own interesting takes on life, and this site brings everyone together so we can learn from each other.


Do you have any specific goals for the rest of this year?

I’d like to keep building on to the site and exploring new topics that are on-trend.


Can you name some of your favourite bloggers and explain why they are your favourites?

Kristin McCarthy at Four Princesses and the Cheese is hilarious and super blunt about being a mom of four little princesses – two of which are twins. She’s raw and honest and her articles always make me laugh. I also love Mary Peterson at Carolina Twin Mom. Her posts make you think and are always so sweet and special.


What do you do in your spare time?

I love exploring new places, experiencing new things and having adventures with my family.


Tell us about your proudest achievement?

Hands down, my kids. They are what truly give life meaning to me.


What would you say that is the greatest satisfaction of being a blogger targeting moms?

Knowing we’re all in this together and that I’m helping others navigate the tricky waters of parenthood.


On the 14th of August and then again on the 6th of September, 2016 you had posted two very interesting articles about children’s reading habits in addition to the article pertaining to my book. How important do you feel that children spend time reading and why?

I believe it’s incredibly important that children (and adults) spend time reading. Books take you places that TV and movies will never be able to. Not only does reading expand your creativity as you ‘watch’ the book in your mind, but it also improves cognitive skills. I honestly can’t imagine life without books!


Throughout all the time that you have been Blogging on the Hooray for Moms site, which five articles would you say have really stuck to the forefront of your mind that would make a great read for those who are reading through this article?


  1. A Day in the Life of an IVF Patient – this article gives readers some insight into what it’s like to wait and worry and hope that this time it works. http://hoorayformoms.com/index.php/2016/11/17/1139/

  2. 14 Bath Toys You Probably Have Around the House – what parent wouldn’t want to save money, especially on bath toys! There are many unique and fun things you likely already have that will make bath time way more fun. http://hoorayformoms.com/index.php/2016/11/18/14-bath-toys-probably-around-house/

  3. Teen Depression and Anxiety: The Difficult Road to Happiness – this article offers a father’s view of his daughter’s depression and how they are struggling to help her find happiness again. http://hoorayformoms.com/index.php/2016/09/11/teen-depression-anxiety/

  4. Six Tips for a Great Family Road Trip – this is a fun article that offers advice on planning the best family road trip. http://hoorayformoms.com/index.php/2016/09/10/6-tips-great-family-road-trip/

  5. 11 Simple Parenting Rules to Follow – this article offers quick bits of lessons learned from other parents. http://hoorayformoms.com/index.php/2016/09/29/11-simple-parenting-rules-follow/


To all of the parents who are reading this interview, what would you say is the single most important tip/advice that you could pass on to them?


Live in the moment and truly enjoy your time together, because kids really do grow up too fast.


How can my readers get in touch with you?

Please feel free to email me at hoorayformoms@gmail.com – I’d love to hear from you!


Thanks!


Well I hope you enjoyed reading this blog and found the article and links of great value.


Until the next posting...


Happy Reading!


Brian



Join my mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page