top of page

Author Spotlight - Deanie Humphrys-Dunne


Today I have the pleasure of bringing to your attention another wonderful children's author by the name of Deanie Humphrys-Dunne.



Deanie is an award-winning children's author who has written 5 award-winning books, four of which are fictional stories told by the adorable animal characters. Her books have won a number of awards and recognition including the Feathered Quill Book Award silver medal, the CLIPPA finalist, the Purple Dragonfly Honorable Mention, the Reader's Favorite silver medal and a cover award bronze medal in the Authorsdb.com contest. Additionally, she was one of the winners in the Authorsshow.com contest, "50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading" contest. Read on to learn more about this fascinating author....

Author profile section:


Country of residence: USA


Favourite hobbyies: singing, reading, reviewing books, music


Favourite song: “Wind Beneath My Wings”


Favourite movie: “It’s A Wonderful Life” and “The Sound of Music” (tie)


Favourite Colour: blue


A place you enjoyed visiting recently: We haven’t travelled recently, but I like Wellington, FL where there’s a famous equestrian center


A place you would like to visit one day: Georgia, USA


About your book:


What inspired you to become an author and how long have you been writing books?


I wrote the first version of Tails of Sweetbrier in 2009. It has since been revised and we are in the process of making further changes to it. I love children and truly enjoy writing stories to inspire and encourage them. My parents always encouraged me to write, but I thought, at first, it was the silliest idea I ever heard.

How did you come up with the idea for your book?

Tails of Sweetbrier - Deanie Humphrys-Dunne

Tails of Sweetbrier is a true story about my childhood and a decision my dad made which changed the course of my life. One day, I had a strong intuition to write the story, hoping to empower children to reach for their dreams.

Can you provide readers of this article with a short synopsis about your book?

Tails of Sweetbrier, which is currently being revised and expanded, is a story about overcoming obstacles against the odds. When I was small, a doctor told my parents I would never be able to walk. But they didn’t accept that premise. My dad declared he would teach me to ride horses and all would be well. He and I embarked on the journey together, determined to prove the doctor wrong. We believed all things are possible through perseverance.

What do you think readers will find most appealing about your books?

I hope readers are inspired to follow their dreams by the story told in Tails of Sweetbrier. There are light-hearted moments, as well as sadness in the story. I hope they are carried along the journey with me, as the story is written in a conversational style. Readers will also learn a life lessons which will help them succeed.

Tell us about your main characters.

In Tails of Sweetbrier, the main characters are members of my family. We grew up at a riding school so we learned a good work ethic, responsibility, and dedication from our life there. My parents worked hard to expand our riding school and make it the best possible. It was a family venture. My sisters, Holly and Terri, were involved in teaching there, along with me. Our parents were deeply involved in managing the various aspects of life on our farm. (bookkeeping, stable management, teaching, scheduling lessons.)

Tell us about your illustrations.


I’m extremely blessed to have my sister, Holly Humphrys-Bajaj, as my illustrator. She also designs the covers of our books. Holly studied Art as a child, with renowned artist, Ray Quigley. Later, she earned her Fine Arts Degree from Southern Methodist University. Her illustrations make the stories come to life and really show the personalities of the characters.

Deanie and her horse - Peach

What do you hope readers learn from your book?

My goal is to inspire children to follow their dreams and show them many obstacles can be overcome if you refuse to give up. Often we can even surprise ourselves with what we can conquer if we try. I hope they realize perseverance is the key to success.


What other books have you written?


My other books are fictional tales, told by the animal characters. The titles are; Charlie the Horse, Charlene the Star, Charlene the Star and Hattie’s Heroes, and Charlene the Star and Bentley Bulldog. All of the books, including Tails of Sweetbrier, convey important life lessons. As mentioned earlier, the fictional books are told by the animal characters. They are quite humorous and creative, I think.

Other books by Deanie Humphrys-Dunne

Are you currently working on any other writing projects?


Yes, Holly and I are working on our first picture book for little children. We’re enjoying the new project and we look forward to its release, probably sometime next year.


How can readers discover more about you and your work?


If anyone has questions or comments, please email me at; deanie@dhdunne.tk. I love reading your comments.


Do you have any words of advice to parents who may have children who do not readily look to picking up a book to read?


Yes, I would tell those parents to find subjects of particular interest to your child. For example, if he/she likes baseball, find books about baseball stars. That way, your child will be eager to read about their idols, or subjects they love. Also, remind them by reading, they will be able to enjoy all sorts of wonderful adventures.


Do you have any suggestions or tips to children when choosing a book to read?


I would encourage children to read about whatever interests them most. For instance, if they like music, find books about that or about musicians. There are books on any subject imaginable. Some books are humorous, which makes them fun to read. Finally, I’d say it’s important for children to choose books that fit in their reading abilities. If they read something too advanced, they’re likely to become discouraged. Books with illustrations would be best to keep them engaged in the events described in the story, too.


I certainly hope you enjoyed reading this article and will consider acquiring a copy of these wonderful titles for that special young reader in your life. Until next time.....


Happy Reading!


Brian


Join my mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page